Blog Hop from Down Under

Hello, cyberspacers. I have been invited by Australian author, Simone Bailey, to take part in a blogger’s version of virtual tag. The tagged author is asked to answer some questions about their work in progress (WIP to us authors) or a recently completed project. You can read Simone’s answers and find information about her books at http://bingellsblog.bigblog.com.au/.

What is the working title of your next book? The working title is “A Folk Song”, but I’m sure I’ll come up with a more exciting title at some point.

Where did the idea come from for the book? The idea came from reading the Wikipedia page of Loudon Wainwright III, the folk singer who had the seventies hit, “Dead Skunk (in the Middle of the Road)”. Almost everyone in his family is famous and also eccentric. My main character is a fictionalized amalgamation of Loudon Wainwright III, Bob Dylan, James Taylor, and others.

What genre does your book fall under? My books don’t fit into specific genres, which is a bit of a problem sometimes. All of them are music-themed fiction.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition? I would prefer all actors in any movie made from my books to be unknown, hungry, and talented. I hate the gatekeepers artists are constantly confronted with, so I’d like to let some unknowns through the gate.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book? That’s very difficult for this book, since the first half of it tells the story of the main character’s father. The book is a fictional autobiography. I guess something like, “Famous folk singer, Stanton Wheelhouse III’s story, from Mississippi to Greenwich Village and beyond.” That’s not very good, I know. I usually do my blurbs after the book is complete, and they take considerable thought.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? My books are published by my company, Backstage Pass Publishing in Victoria, Texas.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? I’m not finished yet. I believe I’ve been working on it since about June of 2012. I just passed 80K words last night, and it’s 234 pages long so far. I have no idea how long it will end up, but I think it will be at least 400 pages.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Any comparisons to my book would probably be found in biographies of musicians who were big in the sixties and seventies.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? I think I answered that above, but I’ll talk about James Taylor here. He was confronted by Mark David Chapman the day before the loon killed John Lennon. Taylor lived next door to Lennon and heard the actual shots fired. Stranger than fiction facts like that are influencing my WIP.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? My books appeal most to music lovers and musicians, but they all have different styles. “Black Dog” is a coming of age story of two teenagers fighting the werewolf from Ozzy’s “Bark at the Moon”. “Band On The Run” and its sequel, “Running On Empty”, are off-the-wall humor in the form of a fictional memoir. “A Folk Song” is more traditional in style, with less Gonzo writing  than my previous books.

Thanks to Simone, for tagging me. Melanie Macek from the Victoria Writer’s Guild has a new book coming out, so I’m tagging her at http://featherpenstartandreams.wordpress.com. I’m tagging Victoria YA author, Jami Montgomery, as well at http://inkpopjdmontgomery.blogspot.com/.

4 thoughts on “Blog Hop from Down Under

  1. Thanks Matt! I’ve enjoyed the little snippets you’ve read from your WIP. Can’t wait to see it finished. I’ll be posting my answers to this in a future blog post, which will be perfect because it will be closer to the actual release date! Side note – your personal voice really comes through on the blog 😀 love it!

Leave a Reply

